Filed under Horror

Revival – Stephen King

Revival – Stephen King

Stephen King himself described his much-awaited new novel, Revival, as a “nasty, dark piece of work,” claiming, “It’s too scary. I don’t even want to think about that book anymore.” He said much the same about his classic novel Pet Sematary, which he consistently names (until now, perhaps?) as the scariest book he has ever … Continue reading

Above – Isla Morley

Above – Isla Morley

I got Above through Netgalley. I wouldn’t have even seen it had I not received an email suggesting it as a good fit for me. As soon as I saw that it was in the vein of The Lovely Bones and Room, I was definitely intrigued. Blythe Hallowell is sixteen when she’s abducted by her … Continue reading

Dr. Sleep – Stephen King

Dr. Sleep – Stephen King

Guys, Dr. Sleep was awesome. I mean, I knew it would be, but I was also afraid a little because this is the first true sequel (other than the Dark Tower series, I suppose) that Stephen King has ever written, and I was worried it might spoil the stand-alone-ness of The Shining, or even Dr. … Continue reading

#603: Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier

#603: Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier

Title: Rebecca Author: Daphne du Maurier Published: 1938 Summary “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.” Among the most famous opening lines in history, Rebecca’s might be one of the most haunting—and with good reason. The story of the second Mrs. de Winter and the horror she encounters at Manderley, her husband’s enormous estate on … Continue reading

Pet Sematary – Stephen King

Pet Sematary – Stephen King

“Sometimes, dead is better.” This is the haunting tagline of Stephen King’s Pet Sematary, which I made myself finally finish last night. And despite having read it before, I am still utterly horrified by it and I expect it’ll take me a few days to fully recover. Let’s get through this review quickly so I … Continue reading

The Uninvited – Liz Jensen

The Uninvited – Liz Jensen

So, for those of you who don’t know, NetGalley is just about the greatest thing ever. If you’re a reviewer or blogger, you can get FREE e-galleys of books you’re interested in, some of which haven’t been published yet (as is the case with The Uninvited). All you have to do is sign up and … Continue reading

#67: House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski

#67: House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski

I first read House of Leaves during the summer of 2007. In my AP Literature class my senior year of high school, we had to choose outside reading books each quarter from an approved list that our teacher provided, and we were allowed to do “modern” literature for one of those quarters. House of Leaves fell … Continue reading

The Dead Zone – Stephen King

The Dead Zone – Stephen King

The Dead Zone is another one of Stephen King’s better-known novels—at least to me—probably because I remember hearing a lot about the TV series when I was younger. (It was actually more successful than I thought, running from 2002-2007!) It’s one of his older books, published in 1979, and is one of the “Castle Rock” … Continue reading

Bag of Bones – Stephen King

Bag of Bones – Stephen King

Bag of Bones is my favorite kind of Stephen King novel: chunky (at least six hundred pages), with several different intertwining storylines. It’s reasonably recent, published in 1998, and as usual has a unique and haunting premise. Four years after the untimely death of his beloved wife, Jo, from a brain aneurysm, novelist Mike Noonan … Continue reading

Carrie – Stephen King

Carrie – Stephen King

Carrie White is a familiar figure to all of us: the perpetually teased outcast, the one who has never fit in and never will. Carrie’s particular brand of “strangeness” comes mostly from a fundamentally religious mother, who often banishes Carrie to a closet chapel to pray. Continue reading

Misery – Stephen King

Misery – Stephen King

Misery is one of Stephen King’s novels that I’ve always considered “canon”—like I mentioned back in this post—basically his better known novels. Many of you have probably seen at least part of the iconic 1990 Kathy Bates/James Caan movie, particularly the famous hobbling scene, which I’ve posted below. (It’s actually very different in the book, … Continue reading

World War Z – Max Brooks

World War Z – Max Brooks

I bought this book for my boyfriend several months ago. He loved it, so I thought I would give it a try, despite being rather annoyed at the whole preponderance of the zombie genre (it’s totally not my thing, although I do fully intend to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies one day, just so … Continue reading

Cujo – Stephen King

Cujo – Stephen King

When I first started getting into Stephen King, Cujo was one of the ones my mom had read and recommended. In my own head I kind of see it as part of a “canon” that consists of books like Pet Sematary, Misery, The Shining, It, Carrie—basically his “well known” novels, or perhaps I should say … Continue reading

Midnight – Dean Koontz

Midnight – Dean Koontz

I think Midnight is the second Dean Koontz novel I ever read, after Watchers. I’m pretty sure that the copy I read was my dad’s or possibly my stepmom’s; I’m also pretty sure that it’s that same copy that’s now in my possession. Whoops. Yeah, I steal books. Don’t lend me books because you’ll have … Continue reading

The Regulators – Stephen King

The Regulators – Stephen King

The Regulators is the “companion novel” to Desperation, which I posted about last week. Let me just tell you, it was very strange reading them back to back. It’s a mid summer afternoon in Wentworth, Ohio. Poplar Street is your stereotypical suburban block, populated by young families, older couples, and the occasional loner/hermit. The residents … Continue reading

Desperation – Stephen King

Desperation – Stephen King

For my fourth Stephen King book this year, I read Desperation. Thanks to Andrew’s parents, who gave me a very generous Barnes & Noble gift card for Christmas, it’s been sitting on my shelf since about January, and I finally took the time to read it! Desperation begins with Peter and Mary Jackson, who are … Continue reading

The Stand – Stephen King

The Stand is without a doubt one of my favorite SK books. I think it was the first one I read; either that or It. I remember I bought them at the same time, and I think my dad told me to read The Stand first, because he thought it was less scary. I was … Continue reading

Something Wicked This Way Comes – Ray Bradbury

When I was in seventh grade, my English class read some short stories from R is for Rocket, one of Ray Bradbury’s collections. I loved them—I was just getting into my science fiction stage, which I still haven’t made it out of completely—so I asked for Ray Bradbury books for Christmas. I specifically asked for … Continue reading