Classics Club Spin!

classicsclubI’m playing The Classics Club Spin!

Directions

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you have left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday 2/18.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by April 1, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading!

My Lists

Books I’m excited to read for the first time:

1. Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There – Lewis Carroll
2. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
3. Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
4. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
5. The Purloined Letter – Edgar Allen Poe

Books I’m excited to revisit: 

6. Animal Farm – George Orwell
7. 1984 – George Orwell
8. Catch-22 – Joseph Heller
9. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – Robert Lewis Stevenson
10. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

Books I’m dreading (aka, those I had to read in school and disliked):

11. The Awakening – Kate Chopin
12. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
13. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
14. The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger
15. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

Books I’m neutral about:

16. Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson
17. The Portrait of a Lady – Henry James
18. The Brothers Karamzov – Fyodor Dostoevsky
19. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
20. Middlemarch – George Eliot

 

I’m really hoping the number is 3, 6, 8, 9, or 10. I really hope it’s NOT 12 or 13 (a Dickens fan I am not).

Are you playing? Tell me in the comments what you hope the number is—and what you hope it isn’t!

12 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin!

    • I’m trying not to root for anything or I’ll be dreadfully disappointed! :-/ …in fact, I just know if I stare at my list long enough I’ll start hoping I get this, that and the other thing…so I’m not even thinking about it. :D

  1. I’m spinning too. I really like your revisit section. Like you, I am also excited about Les Miserables, but to think I’d have to finish it in about a month is… daunting :D Then again, I put War and Peace in my list so who am I to say anything :p I think Anna Karenina is one of those especially delicious books, but only if you are into that kind of stuff (meaning if you are into attempting to navigate amongst a little big pile of characters who all have Russian names). Good luck!

    • Ahh, I’m so bad at reading books with unfamiliar names!! That’s part of the reason why it’s so hard for me to get into fantasy…when I can’t pronounce someone’s name in my head I forget who they are. Oops.

      Anyway, thanks for stopping by, and good luck!

  2. I am halfway through an audio book of Huckleberry Finn. I began it in the middle of last year, and couldn’t finish it. I hope to some day!…the narration I was listening to was really good, but the story was dreadfully boring. Maybe I should pick up a print/e-copy…reading might make it easier…?

    Anyway, all the best with the draw! :)

  3. Pingback: Classics Club Spin – What’s Your Number? « No Thanks, I'd Rather Read

What do you think?

